A Song I Used to Sing

In my teens and into my twenties I wanted to be a gospel singer. I studied voice at the Toronto Conservatory with that in mind, and I was busy as a singer, song leader and youth speaker visiting churches in Ontario and down into the United States. During that time I often sang a solo that has come back to me 65 years later during this holy season leading up to Resurrection Sunday, April 8. I share the words with you:

Jesus is standing in Pilate’s Hall,
Friendless, forsaken, betrayed by all;
Harken! What meaneth the sudden call:
What will you do with Jesus?

Refrain

What will you do with Jesus?
Neutral you cannot be;
Some day your heart will be asking,
“What will he do with me?”

Jesus is standing on trial still,
You can be false to him if you will,
You can be faithful through good or ill:
What will you do with Jesus?

Refrain

Will you evade him as Pilate tried?
Or will you choose him whate’er betide?
Vainly you struggle from him to hide:
What will you do with Jesus?

Refrain

Will you like Peter your Lord deny?
Or will you scorn from his foes to fly,
Daring for Jesus to live or die?
What will you do with Jesus?

Refrain

“Jesus, I give you my heart today!
Jesus, I’ll follow you all the way,
Gladly obeying you!” will you say:
This will I do with Jesus.

During the days leading up to the celebration of Our Lord’s death and resurrection – the price he paid to free us from our sins and give us eternal life – it is good to reflect personally on this question set in verse.

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

